How to Disable the Sharing of Photos From Your Cell Phone?

Most of the phones active almost automatically share photos on social networks. Other people also end up confusing the sharing of photos with the storage of them in the services in the cloud. We will treat all of the cases here, showing you how to disable the sharing and storage of photos in the cloud.

Why Disable the Share Photos From Your Phone?

Many security experts have suggested that the unintended consequences of blindly activating this feature is that you provide to social networking sites a huge library of photos with location data embedded so they can better target you for advertising. I’m not one to complain when it comes to technology, especially in the inevitability of targeting advertising. But the unknown future of photos that I never intended to share loaded with location information does not leave me very secure in sharing with any one of these information, especially on social networks. And I think that this should also be a concern.

How to Disable the Share Photos From Your Phone on Facebook?

Facebook has a feature called Photo Sync that is designed to simplify the process of image uploading for users of smartphones. It is not really an application, but an optional feature that can be attached inside of the Android applications and iOS existing. Despite some of the misinformation circulating on the internet, the synchronization does not automatically publish your photos in Facebook for the whole world to see, but just for you to see. The idea is to eliminate the step of uploading to the photos you take on your smartphone. Depois disso, tudo que você tem a fazer é decidir quais delas você gostaria de compartilhar. Enquanto essa comodidade pode soar boa para alguns usuários de smartphones, se você for como a maioria de nós, você tem um monte de fotos que tira com seu smartphone que você não tem intenção de mandar para o Facebook.

And, we’ve all used a friend’s computer or an office computer to access the Facebook and forgot to leave our account when we use the computer. The next time someone goes to Facebook on that computer, your profile will appear with all of these photos “private” completely accessible. If you inadvertently have turned the feature Photo Sync/Sync Photos, you will see a new option at the bottom of their libraries of photos called “synced/synced”. If you do not see, you did not call yet. If you did and want to disable it, here is how to do it:

For Android users

  1. Open the application from the Facebook and click on the main menu top left (3 white lines);
  2. Scroll to the bottom and select Account > App Settings > Sync Photos;
  3. Choose don’t sync my photos/upload my photos.

To users iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch:

  1. Open the application from Facebook and go to your timeline/timeline;
  2. Tap Photos;
  3. At the bottom, tap Synced/Synced;
  4. Tap on the gear icon and choose turn Off Syncing of Photos/Upload photos;
  5. Click on do Not sync my photos/do Not upload my photos.

How to Disable the Share Photos From Your Phone in Google+?

This feature of autobackup in the Google+ app for Android may not be for everyone. It was previously known as Instant Upload. You can turn off the feature of automatic backup in Google easily with a few steps. As in the case of Facebook, your photos stored in Google+ are in a private place and will not be shared with anyone until you choose to share them publicly. Not everyone likes to upload their photos and videos to Google+ automatically, whether for privacy reasons or reasons of economy of data packets, and the battery of the mobile phone.

To turn off Auto Backup of Google+ on Android:

  1. Open the app from the Google photos/Google+;
  2. Tap the menu;
  3. Tap Settings;
  4. Touch turn on/off auto backup.

To turn off Auto Backup of Google+ on iOS:

  1. Open the app from the Google+;
  2. Tap the menu;
  3. Tap the gear in the top right;
  4. Tap on Camera and photos;
  5. Enable or disable the automatic Backup.

How to Disable the Share Photos From Your Phone on Other Social Networks?

Some social networks also make the automatic upload of photos. To turn off this automatic upload of forms, there are two possible ways for the different devices.

To turn off photo sharing on Android devices:

Method 1: you can simply access the application from the social network in question and look for options/settings and choose those that relate to the photos to find uploading/sharing/automatic backup of photos and enable or disable this option.

Method 2: open the settings of your device. Look for the tab Accounts/Accounts. Click on the account from the social network in which you want to disable the upload/backup/automatic sharing of photos. Clear with a touch on the sync options of the application. It is worth remembering that this will not work for all applications.

To disable the sharing of photos on iOS devices:

Method 1: follow the same steps as method 1 for Android devices.

Method 2: as well as Android devices, the iOS devices have in their settings ways to block the sharing of photos. You can use the parental restrictions to this, and in the settings of the iPhoto and iCloud.

How to Disable the Sharing of Photos From Your Cell Phone to Store Apps in the Cloud?

Dropbox, Onedrive are just two simple examples of applications for cloud storage that can do auto upload of your photos. But as well as other applications, it is quite simple to disable this automatic upload.

To turn off photo sharing on Android devices:

Method 1: you can simply access the application of cloud storage service and disable the option for backup/auto upload of photos and videos in the options of the application.

Method 2: open the settings of your device. Look for the tab Accounts/Accounts. Click on the account from the application storage in the cloud for which you don’t want to do upload/auto backup photos. Clear with a touch on the sync options of the application.

To disable the sharing of photos on iOS devices:

Method 1: follow the same steps as method 1 for Android devices.

Method 2: follow the same steps from method 2 to disable sharing photos to social networking applications.

Final Considerations

It is always remember that it is good to have a safe place to store your photos and videos and not just a hard drive or SD card. Select a service to upload your photos, such as Dropbox, Onedrive or Box, and set the privacy options correctly. Even social networks can be a good option. Just do not forget to turn off the automatic upload in 3G networks to not end up with your data plan.

Have any questions? Don’t forget to ask in the comments below. We are here to help!