American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)

According to abbreviationfinder, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists is commonly known as ACOG. The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) was established in 1951 as a non-profit organization dedicated to advancing the science and practice of obstetrics and gynecology. It is the leading professional organization of medical doctors specializing in women’s health care. ACOG serves its members by providing educational resources, clinical guidance, practice management tools, and advocacy on issues related to women’s health care. The organization has over 58,000 members in the United States and internationally.

ACOG’s mission is to promote excellence in women’s health care through education, research, advocacy, and quality assurance. The organization works to improve the lives of women by providing evidence-based clinical guidance on medical issues such as contraception, infertility, pregnancy loss, menopause management and more. ACOG also works with the government to ensure that all women have access to quality health care services. ACOG has developed numerous guidelines for obstetrician-gynecologists on various topics such as cervical cancer screening; labor induction; postpartum depression; screening for gestational diabetes; breastfeeding promotion; maternal mortality review committees; safe sleep practices for infants; among other topics. In addition to its work in promoting quality healthcare for women, ACOG also provides leadership on public policy issues related to reproductive rights and healthcare reform initiatives.

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists

Admissions Statistics

The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) is one of the most prestigious professional organizations in the field of obstetrics and gynecology. Founded in 1951, ACOG has grown to become an international leader in providing quality care for women’s health care. ACOG is composed of over 58,000 members from all 50 states and more than 130 countries around the world.

Admission to ACOG is highly competitive; only a select few are accepted each year. The average applicant to ACOG has a GPA of 3.5 or higher, with some applicants having GPAs as high as 4.0 or higher. In addition to academic excellence, applicants must demonstrate their commitment to the field through prior experience in related fields such as medicine, nursing, or healthcare administration. Furthermore, applicants must show evidence of active involvement in professional organizations related to obstetrics and gynecology such as local chapters of ACOG or other medical societies. Finally, successful applicants must pass a comprehensive written exam that covers all aspects of obstetrics and gynecology including anatomy, physiology, pathology, clinical management skills and patient care techniques.

Departments and Degrees

The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) is a professional membership organization dedicated to advancing women’s health care. ACOG offers a variety of educational programs, events, and resources for obstetricians and gynecologists. Additionally, the college provides a variety of degrees and certifications in the field of obstetrics and gynecology. The ACOG offers its members the opportunity to pursue an accredited Doctor of Medicine (MD) degree in Obstetrics and Gynecology, as well as Master’s degrees in Clinical Science, Health Care Administration, Women’s Health Care Leadership, Public Health, Nursing Practice, or Nurse Midwifery. In addition to these degree programs, ACOG also offers certifications in Maternal-Fetal Medicine (MFM), Reproductive Endocrinology & Infertility (REI), Female Pelvic Medicine & Reconstructive Surgery (FPMRS), Urogynecology & Pelvic Reconstructive Surgery (UPMRS) ,and Gynecologic Oncology (GO). ACOG also provides its members with continuing medical education opportunities through their Annual Clinical and Scientific Meeting. Additionally, ACOG has established a number of fellowship programs to help members further their education in specific areas within the field such as Maternal-Fetal Medicine or Women’s Cancer Prevention.


The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) is a leading medical organization in the United States dedicated to providing high-quality patient care and education for women’s health. It is composed of more than 58,000 members who are board-certified obstetrician–gynecologists, as well as other health professionals who specialize in women’s healthcare. ACOG provides evidence-based clinical guidance and resources to its members and the public to help improve women’s health outcomes. The organization also sets standards for practice, publishes guidelines for care, and offers a variety of professional development opportunities for its members.

ACOG’s ranking system is based on its commitment to providing quality healthcare to women. Its rankings are determined by the quality of the evidence it uses to develop guidelines, the number of published guidelines available, and its membership’s qualifications. ACOG has five levels of rankings that range from Level I (lowest) to Level V (highest). Level I includes physicians who have completed an accredited residency program; Level II includes physicians who have completed an additional two years of training in obstetrics or gynecology; Level III includes physicians who have completed an additional four years of training in obstetrics or gynecology; Level IV includes physicians with advanced degrees such as a master’s or doctorate degree in obstetrics or gynecology; and finally, Level V includes those with specialties such as reproductive endocrinology or maternal–fetal medicine. Each level has specific requirements that must be met before a physician can receive certification from ACOG. Additionally, each level also has specific continuing medical education requirements that must be met in order to maintain certification status.